Wedding Reviews

at Great National Hotel Ballina

 Thinking of getting married at Great National Hotel Ballina?

Read the reviews from our past brides and grooms who shared their special day with us. 

Mr & Mrs Mitchell - 25th of August 2017 

We had our wedding in the Great National Hotel Ballina on the 25thof August 2017. Everything was perfect and we had the best day of our lives. Denise was a pleasure to deal with and was so helpful from day one (she is a star!). When we explained what kind of a day we wanted she suggested people and ideas that would complement our day. All of which were perfect. Any query we had was replied to so quickly and the help we got with planning our day was just amazing. The food on the day was incredible and so many our guests told us how much they enjoyed it. We would highly recommend The Great National Hotel Ballina as a wedding venue, if only we could do it all again!

Lisa Flannery · July 17, 2017

Can not say enough about the great national hotel and all there staff especially Denise. From the minute we booked our wedding there we were put at ease and so relaxed about it. On Sat we had our wedding and it was AMAZING the food the room the drinks reception everything we can not fault anything. Would highly highly recommend this beautiful hotel and Denise who we were dealing with from the beginning. Thanks a million again Denise you are brilliant at your job. Xx

Wedding Review - Fiona Hughes reviewed Great National Hotel Ballina — 5 star

"We had our wedding at the Great National hotel on 13/5/17. On our first time meeting Denise and PJ they were extremely helpful. Denise was super in helping organise the day. She was very quick to respond to emails and calls. On the day of the wedding all the management and staff were friendly and helpful to all our guests. The meal was great and everything was cooked to perfection. The function room was decorated beautifully. We highly recommend Denise and The Great National hotel for a wedding or any function."

Outstanding wedding venue! - 5 Star

"It was a joy and an amazing experience to have had our wedding reception so close to our home in the Great National Hotel Ballina on the 17th of March 2017.

Our wedding day begun many months before with the planning and organizing of the event reception. We visited a few hotels in the area, and by far The Great National rose above the rest of the hotels. From the very start Pj, Denise and Natalie were highly professional, supportive and willing to go that extra mile to help in our vision of our wedding reception. They were always contactable and willing to listen.

The Nephin suite is stunning, classy and elegant, fit for a princess! The food was exceptional.Head chef Ian went above and beyond to ensure all dietary requirements were catered for, nothing was ever too much. Both Pj and Denise took full control throughout the meal, everything was timed to absolute perfection.The staff were all professional and could not do enough to help. A few weeks on, guests are still complementing us on the food,staff and the whole reception.

We could not ask anymore of this hotel, Its management and staff, it was truly incredibly from start to finish. A hotel we would HIGHLY recommend for any occasion, Its a little gem on our doorstep!"

‎Wedding Review 6th of March – Samantha Gildea & Niall Maughan

"Thank you so much for such a fantastic service from start to finish. We had the most amazing day and could not of chosen a better hotel to host our wedding in. Everything was exceptional the food staff venue the lay out of the hotel was beautiful😊. Big thanks to Denise Pj Andrew ye did us proud. I would highly recommend all newly engaged couples to pick this hotel. Thanks so much guys. See you soon"

Wedding Review - 30 November 2016

"Where do I begin, I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion. The events manager Denise, manager Pj and all the staff looked after our every need. The food in the bar,our wedding meal and breakfast was fabulous. Our guests were all talking about how nice it was and the good size of the meals. The function room as been redecorated and it is warm and inviting. The bedrooms are spacious, clean and well laid out. It is ideally located on the edge of town. A fabulous gem of a hotel, you won't be disappointed..."

Wedding Review - Alma Tolan & Michael Dolan 15th of October 2016

“Wedding At Great National Hotel Ballina (Date 15/10/16)” 5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 days ago NEW On Behalf of Myself & Michael Dolan, We would like to thank all the staff & especially Denise Munnelly & Pj Doyle for making our day very special. They give a fantastic service to all guests. The Food was excellent and cater for all tastes. If you are planning a wedding, we would highly recommend Great National Hotel Ballina for your venue. Very good package. Really look after the Bride & Groom from start to finish. They are really accommodating. Really nice Grounds at hotel & Reception Area of hotel is spectacular. Good photo opportunity for any couple. Room Tip: Very close to Ballina Town Centre. Good selection of rooms. good dining service."

Wedding Review - Chris Carroll & Evelyn Duffy 29th of July 2016

"We had our wedding at the great national hotel ballina in July2016. We visited many hotels before choosing our venue in and around the Mayo area, whilst there are many fantastic hotels to choose from we feel on reflection we made the best choice as there is nothing we would want or do differently now we have had time to reflect on wedding day. The food was beautiful and the service from all the waiters and waitresses was superb, you can clearly tell there is a lot of organisation and leadership behind the scenes as the whole meal went like clock work and as for the quantities...there was seconds and in some cases third servings!! I made use of the swimming pool sauna steam room and Jacuzzi the morning of the wedding...what a way to start the day. The breakfast was also spot on. If you are looking for your wedding venue and want somewhere that will be easy to deal with, excellent value for money and have your guests well looked after then look no further than the Great National Hotel Ballina. All of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the day and couldn't have spoken more highly about the hotel. Thanks again to everyone!!"